Thursday, 7 July 2016

2016 South Australian Architecture Awards Wrap Up

The South Australian Architects Awards have wrapped up for another year, and what an awards night it was! Fielders would like to extend our sincerest congratulations to all the inspirational award winners and commendations from the evening. Taking place at the Adelaide Oval, the night was full of architectural brilliance, showcasing South Australia’s most innovative and ground breaking projects.  

As the proud major state sponsor of the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, Fielders was honoured to be part of the night’s proceedings, with Fielders Business Development Manager, James Harrison, on hand as a key note speaker and to present the award for Educational Architecture, which was won by HASSELL for their work on the Flinders at Tonsley project.

Flinders at Tonsley, HASSELL. Image: Sam Noonan

Thomson Rossi Architects took out two awards on the night, the Award for Commercial Architecture and the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture, for their remarkable work on The South Australian Drill Core Reference Library. Fielders are proud to have been involved with this project, which features 2,500m2 of our Shadowline 305 profile in Colorbond® Monument.

The South Australian Drill Core Reference Library, Thomson Rossi. Image: David Sievers

During the course of the night, four projects from the Tonsley redevelopment in Adelaide’s south took home seven awards across education, heritage, commercial, sustainability and urban design.

Other big winners on the night included Troppo Architects, Grieve Gillett Anderson, Williams Burton Leopardi, Woods Bagot, and HASSELL for their respective projects and contribution to South Australian architecture.

Base 64, Williams Burton Leopardi. Image: Christopher

Morrison Stretton Centre, HASSELL. Image: Peter Bennetts

Having worked with Tectvs previously on the Adelaide Showgrounds Train Station project, Fielders was pleased to see Tectvs Director, Francesco Bonato, presented with the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal. State Chapter president David Homburg presented the award, noting that Fran “exemplifies the idea of advocating for and delivering great design" and went on to say: "If the things that we are trying to achieve as a Chapter could be captured in one person, that person would be Fran Bonato." 

During the course of the night Fielders also ran an iPad giveaway, which was won by Sarah Swincer thanks to her superior knowledge of the Fielders’ product range. We hope you’re enjoying the iPad and putting it to good use!

A huge congratulations must also go to the team at the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects for putting on yet another amazing night of awards -  the evening was a huge success and enjoyed by all attendees. We also like to wish all the award winners the very best of luck in the National Architecture Awards this coming November.

On a final note, Fielders would also like to highlight the award winning and commended projects from WA and NSW that we had the pleasure of being involved with:

Sustainable Architecture Award & Public Architecture Commendation:
Scott Carver Architects – Netball Central.
Fielders supplied 6,500m2 of ARAMAX FreeSpan to the exterior, and 5,500m2 of ARAMAX FreeSpan to the interior of the project.

Netball Central, Scott Carver Architects
Public Architecture Commendation:
Peter Hunt Architects – The National Anzac Centre.
Fielders supplied 180 m2 of Finesse Nailstrip roofing and wall panels.

Hillson Beasley Award for Educational Architecture:
Parry and Rosenthal Architects – Mother Teresa Catholic College.
Fielders supplied the projects S-Rib™ roofing solution.

The National Anzac Centre, Peter Hunt Architects